Who are we?

  • Sandy Anderson

    Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor, Governor for Swallow Class - Year 6

    Sandy joined both the Governing Body and was appointed Chair of Governors in September 2014 although he had been a governor previously from 2005 to 2010 but had lived in Belgium in the interim. He also sits on the Board of Directors of Plymouth CAST.

  • Michelle Cobby

    Vice-Chair, Community Governor, Governor for Owl Class - Year 3

    Michelle started as a Parent Governor 10 years ago. She believes passionately that all children should reach their full potential with all Governors having a fundamental role in helping them to achieve this. Michelle attempts to visit the school once a week. She is approachable and always willing to talk. Please feel free to contact Michelle through the school if you wish to know any more.

  • Di Carr

    Foundation Governor, Lead Governor for RE and Catholic Life, Governor for Kingfisher Class - Year 5

    Di is a former Headteacher and has been a Governor at Our Lady's for several years. Di has a grandchild at the school.
    Di is the lead governor for RE and Catholic Life.

  • Fr James Barber

    Foundation Governor, Governor for Barn A Bs Pre-School

    Fr. James Barber is the Assistant Priest of the Parish of the Immaculate Conception, Barnstaple. Fr. James was appointed Foundation Governor in November 2019 and also operates in a chaplaincy role within the school in connection with the parish. He comes from Plymouth, converted from Atheism in 2008 before reading Theology at Heythrop College, London. Fr. James completed his formation for the priesthood at the Venerable English College, Rome where he completed a diploma in Philosophy, a second degree in Sacred Theology, and a Licence in Moral Theology. He was ordained to the priesthood in June 2019.

  • Rob Meech


    Rob started working at Our Lady's School in 2004 as a supply teacher. He has since held various roles within the school, Class Teacher, Head of PE, Assistant Headteacher. Rob became the Principal in September 2015.

  • Claire Silverlock

    Clerk to Governors

    Claire has been our Clerk to Governors since September 2013. If you have any governor enquiries or would like to contact any of the governors please email Claire at clerk@olcs.uk or by phoning the school on 01271 345164 during school hours.

  • Mrs Ana Barbosa Richards

    Parent Governor

    My experience in the health and social care world in the UK expanded my interest in promoting a safe , caring and kind environment for children. Being a part of the local governing board is a great opportunity to participate in actively maximising childrens opportunity to grow safely, healthy and happily. I feel this will increase their chances of positively developing in becoming confident, human beings. Children are the future and as such they should be nurtured .

    Ana became a Parent Govermor in November 2020 and has two children at the school.

  • Geraldine Herage

    Foundation Governor, Lead Governor for SEND, Governor for Heron Class - Year 1

    Geraldine became a Foundation Governor in June 2016. She is the Governor with responsibility for SEN and regularly attends our School Council Meetings.
    Geraldine is a retired headteacher with vast experience in behaviour and special educational needs.
    Geraldine is the lead governor for SEND.

  • Matthew Brown

    Parent Governor, Lead Governor for Health and Safety, Governor for Robin Class - Reception

    Matt has been a Parent Governor since 2014 and has a child attending the school. Since commencing as a Governor he has found it rewarding helping the school to flourish for the benefit of the children.
    Matthew is the lead governor for Health and Safety.

  • Diane Chavasse

    Staff Governor

    As a year 5 teacher, and Assistant Principal, Diane is committed to striving for the very best for our pupils so they each achieve their own individual potential. Diane enjoys working alongside the governing body for the benefit of our whole school community. Diane became a staff governor in September 2015.

  • Cathy Jeffery

    Staff Governor, Governor for Puffin Class - Year 2

    Cathy has been a Staff Governor since 2017 and is the Manager of our Barn A Bs Pre-School. Cathy is a mother of four children, so she bases the principles of her work, on how she would want her own children to be treated. She believes children should be treated with respect, kindness and they should be valued for their own unique character. It is a great blessing and joy to work with the children and families in Barn-a-b’s, and Cathy is happy to champion the early years in Our Lady’s Governing Body.

  • Simon Cohen

    Foundation Governor, Lead Governor for Safeguarding

    As a practising Catholic (still in training) Simon was appointed as a Governor in September 2015. Simon graduated from DeMontfort University, Leicester with a DIPHE in Youth and Community Work and a BA (Hons) in Applied Social Sciences. Simon has been a professional Youth Worker and Manager for over 17 years, having worked directly with children and young people and managing three district council areas in Devon. Simon currently works ‘freelance’ as an Investigating Officer regarding allegations made against employees and grievances. Simon’s two teenage children attended Our Lady’s.
    Simon is the lead governor for Safeguarding.

  • Vernon Clarke

    Foundation Governor, Lead Governor for Statutory Grants, Governor for Eagle Class - Year 4

    Married to a former teacher and with a daughter who is engaged to a teacher, he has a keen interest in education. He was educated at St Joseph’s Roman Catholic Comprehensive in Swindon, before reading law at Oxford University. He then trained as a solicitor and has served for many years as a trustee of diverse charities . Vernon was appointed as a Foundation Governor in January 2018 and is the lead governor for statutory grants.

  • Mrs Mary Szymankiewicz

    Foundation Governor

    Mary became a Foundation Governor serving on the Local Governing Board in December 2020. Mary is a retired Teacher of Chemistry and Biology and is passionate about the role of Sport and The Arts in Education.