Protected Characteristics

Promoting the Protected Characteristics at Our Lady's


We work to ensure that our children understand that:


There are no outsiders at Our Lady's

Everyone is different

We celebrate our differences

We are all equal in our differences



The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have.


Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics:


  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity



The Protected Characteristics are actively promoted at Our Lady's through:


Our school Values and vision

Our School Positive Behaviour and Relationship Policy

Role Modelling by adults in the school

Active engagement and communication with parents and carers

The promotion of British Values in School

The School Council

Educational experiences and visits


Extra-curricular clubs and community projects

Safer recruitment, retention and staff development

The Curriculum



The Curriculum


At Our Lady's, we actively promote these in our curriculum and work to embed them into our ethos.


As part of our PSHE curriculum, each year the children complete a unit called 'Celebrating Differences' which covers protected characteristics.

Protected Characteristics in the Reading Curriculum

These books are read as class texts over the course of the year to encourage positive and guided discussion of the protected characteristics.

During their time at Our Lady's children will learn about all the major world religions.  These are taught with the understanding that we celebrate and respect all religions and their principles.


  • Christianity
  • Judaism
  • Islam
  • Sikhism
  • Buddhism