Who are we?

  • Sandy Anderson

    Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor, Governor for Owl Class - Year 3

    Sandy joined both the Governing Body and was appointed Chair of Governors in September 2013 although he had been a governor previously from 2005 to 2010 but had lived in Belgium in the interim. He is also Chair of the Board of Directors of Plymouth CAST.

  • Michelle Cobby

    Vice-Chair, Chair of Resources Committee, Community Governor, Governor for Robin Class - Reception

    Michelle started as a Parent Governor 10 years ago. She believes passionately that all children should reach their full potential with all Governors having a fundamental role in helping them to achieve this. Michelle chairs the Resources Committee and also sits on the Teaching and Learning Committee. Michelle attempts to visit the school once a week. She is approachable and always willing to talk. Please feel free to contact Michelle through the school if you wish to know any more.

  • Di Carr

    Chair of Teaching and Learning Committee, Foundation Governor, Governor for Heron Class - Year 1

    Di is a former Headteacher and has been a Governor at Our Lady's for several years. Di has a grandchild at the school. Di is Chair of the Teaching and Learning Committee and also sits on the Every Child Matters Committee.

  • Bill Kelly

    Foundation Governor, Governor for Eagle Class - Year 4

    Bill is a retired Headteacher with wide experience in Catholic Primary Schools who continues to have an active interest in education. Bill sits on both the Teaching and Learning Committee and the Every Child Matters Committee.

  • Father Paul Andrew

    Foundation Governor, Governor for Puffin Class - Year 2

    Having once been a teacher in secondary, primary and special educational needs schools, when dinosaurs ruled the earth, Father Paul was subsequently Chair of Governors of a church secondary school in London and Clerk to the Governors for two primary schools in Plymouth. He has been the Parish Priest of Barnstaple since October 2012 and is very keen on exploring all the ways in which the church and the school can co-operate to their mutual advantage. Father Paul sits on both the Every Child Matters and Resources Committees.

  • Rob Meech


    Rob started working at Our Lady's School in 2004 as a supply teacher. He has since held various roles within the school, Class Teacher, Head of PE, Assistant Headteacher. Rob became the Principal in September 2015.

  • Claire Silverlock

    Clerk to Governors

    Claire is our Clerk to Governors. If you have any governor enquiries or would like to contact any of the governors please email Claire at clerk@olcs.uk or by phoning the school on 01271 345164 during school hours.

  • Geraldine Herage

    Chair of Every Child Matters Committee, Foundation Governor, Governor for Barn a Bs Pre-School

    Geraldine became a Foundation Governor in June 2016 is the Chair of the Every Child Matters Committee and sits on the Resources Committee. She is the Governor with responsibility for SEN and Safeguarding and regularly attends our School Council Meetings.
    Geraldine is a retired headteacher with vast experience in behaviour and special educational needs.

  • Matthew Brown

    Parent Governor, Governor for Swallow Class - Year 6

    Matt has been a Parent Governor since 2014 and has two children attending the school. Since commencing as a Governor he has found it rewarding helping the school to flourish for the benefit of the children. Matt sits on both the Resources and the Teaching and Learning Committees.

  • Diane Chavasse

    Staff Governor

    As a year 6 teacher, and Assistant Principal, Diane is committed to striving for the very best for our pupils so they each achieve their own individual potential. Diane enjoys working alongside the governing body for the benefit of our whole school community. Diane became a staff governor in September 2015 and sits on both the Teaching and Learning and Resources Committees.

  • Cathy Jeffery

    Staff Governor, Governor for Kingfisher Class - Year 5

    Cathy has been a Staff Governor since 2017 and is the Manager of our Barn A Bs Pre-School. Cathy sits on both the Teaching and Learning and the Every Child Matters Committees. Cathy is a mother of four children, so she bases the principles of her work, on how she would want her own children to be treated. She believes children should be treated with respect, kindness and they should be valued for their own unique character. It is a great blessing and joy to work with the children and families in Barn-a-b’s, and Cathy is happy to champion the early years in Our Lady’s Governing Body.

  • Simon Cohen

    Foundation Governor

    As a practising Catholic (still in training) Simon was appointed as a Governor in September 2015 and sits on the Every Child Matters and Resources Committees which are areas close to his heart. Simon graduated from DeMontfort University, Leicester with a DIPHE in Youth and Community Work and a BA (Hons) in Applied Social Sciences. Simon has been a professional Youth Worker and Manager for over 17 years, having worked directly with children and young people and managing three district council areas in Devon. Simon currently works ‘freelance’ as an Investigating Officer regarding allegations made against employees and grievances. Simon’s two teenage children attended Our Lady’s.

  • Tracy Mallaband-Whitham

    Parent Governor

    Tracy joined the governing body in September 2017 as a Parent Governor. Tracy has two children, one of which has left the school to start secondary school and her daughter is a current pupil. Tracy sits on the Every Child Matters Committee.

  • Vernon Clarke

    Foundation Governor

    Married to a former teacher and with a daughter who is engaged to a teacher, he has a keen interest in education. He was educated at St Joseph’s Roman Catholic Comprehensive in Swindon, before reading law at Oxford University. He then trained as solicitor and has served for many years as a trustee of diverse charities . Vernon was appointed as a Foundation Governor in January 2018 and sits on the Resources Committee and also the Teaching and Learning Committee.